Write Review
4.6
SUPERB!
  • User Friendly
    4.6
  • Support
    4.7
  • Features
    4.6
  • Reliability
    4.7
  • Pricing
    4.6
Write Review
Visit Cloudways

Cloudways Reviews and Expert Opinion

A few words from Cloudways

To provide the fastest and most engaging experience for its customers, Cloudways offers Debian 8 based servers designed to optimize linux based hosting. Servers already equipped with Thunderstack help with taking on immense amounts of load without any downtime, using minimum resources and eliminating server crashes. This, coupled with SSD based technology, helps give the best L...Read Moreinux experience every time.
Cloudways also offers the following features;
-Free Cloud CDN and HTTPS support
-Vertical scaling of servers
-Staging area for testing websites
-Git integration for instant deployment
-One-click stop for applications and servers
-Folder-like structure for managing multiple projects
-Support for Multiple PHP versions
Less
Cloudways HomePage Screenshot
Money Back: 30 Days

Pricing Range

VPS AU$16.14
Cloud Hosting AU$14.67 - AU$1,518.71

Availability

99.9% Uptime

Data Centers

Cloudways Awards

Awarded companies that are in the top 10 by users' score
Hubert Kunz

Pinned Review

Hubert Kunz,
5.0
Its all perfekt, many thanks to the team!

Reviews

dan marley
dan marley from Israel,

Pretty pricey for SHARED VPS

2.0
forget it that you get "VPS" or "MANAGED" its just plain shared VPS if you wont go with amazon or google cloud.
SO BASICLLY YOU PAYING HIGH PRICES FOR SHARED HOSTING WITHOUT ANY BENEFITS.

everything cost there money, plain "u...Read Morepgrade" if you want it to handle woocomerce as pricey as kinsta or any other service.

Support isn't really knowlegebale so..

GOING back to my previous host.
Less
Mladan Njagojevic
Mladan Njagojevic from Germany,

Probably the best web hosting available

5.0
For eCommerce solutions it is very hard to find something better then Cloudways on the market. It is secure, reliable and support is available 24/7 if you need anything. And, if it is great for eCommerce (you are reading between the lines) it is absolutely perfect for any other type of websites.
Partha Banerjee
Partha Banerjee from Australia,

Total value for money with excellent service.

5.0
Cloudways is fast, simple and reliable. It is Total value for money with excellent service. Cloudways is much cheaper than GoDaddy. They have excellent chat for all your queries.
Sindre Langberg
Sindre Langberg from Norway,

Absolutely amazing

5.0
Its supereasy to set up a new server at Cloudways, just setup what provider you want and you are ready to go within minutes. Takes two minutes to set up a complete new wordpress application.

If you get in trouble they provide f...Read Moreree 24/7 support and they are REALLY helpful.

Cannot stress enough how well cloudways has functioned for my company. I changed from siteground to cloudways and is extremely happy with the switch
Less

Expert Review

Bruno Mirchevski
Bruno Mirchevski
Hosting Expert

Cloudways expert review cover image

Last Update | May 2022

Monthly Update – May 2022

Hosting PlansCloud Hosting
Top Features24/7/365 Support, Pay As You Go, Free Migration, Free SSL Certificates, No Lock-in, Unlimited Applications, 5 Cloud Providers, Innovative Control Panel, Managed Security

Automated Backups, Performance That Scales

Customer SupportLive Chat, Ticketing System, Phone Support, Knowledge Base

During May, Cloudways:

  • Experienced a partial outage in its Singapore region.
  • Experienced a DNS Resolution issue.
  • Experienced a connectivity issue in its Amsterdam region.
  • Experienced an issue with its Stackpath CDN.
  • Performed scheduled maintenance on its monitoring service.
  • Experienced a service disruption.
  • Experienced a partial power outage.
  • HostAdvice Special Deals: Get free cloud hosting credit worth $30 with code: HOSTADVICE30.
  • Announced that it will be an Administrator Sponsor for WCEU 2022.

Cloudways is a web host company based in Malta which is the perfect example of affordable and successful hosting. Since April 2011, this company has worked hard to prove that it is worth it and that it offers incredible features, support, and website performance.

Their expert team provides 24/7 customer support and does everything it has to be done to improve Cloudways’ quality. Today, it has the trust of more than thousands of users worldwide. Cloudways web hosting has a bit different approach to hosting, which, I must say, is pretty unique. Instead of developing its own infrastructure, its users have a chance to choose from different cloud hosting providers – DigitalOcean, Vultr, Linode, AWS, and Google Cloud. Due to this approach, you can benefit from useful tools that will help you manage your site, and you will also get good performance for an affordable price.

So, if you are searching for a web host that provides top-quality performance and features for a low price, Cloudways might be the perfect match for your business!

 

Is Cloudways the Right Host for You?

There are thousands of web hosting providers on the market. To stand out and be one of the best-ranked, you should have something worth it. Cloudways achieved being on that list by providing many benefits for its users. If you doubt what I’m saying, you can check out the many customer reviews, as well as the expert reviews.

When I got the chance to do the Cloudways brand review, I wasn’t quite sure what to expect because I’d never researched more about it. So, this review was the perfect chance to see whether it really provides excellent support, a great set of features, and high-level security. What I was also satisfied with was their mature access to every single thing and their platform’s simplicity.

In our thorough Cloudways review, backed up with customer reviews, you will find out more information that will help you decide whether this web host is right for you.

 

Here is How We Review:

We always tend to provide reliable and 100% transparent brand reviews, so we always follow five simple steps that increase the quality of our expert reviews.

  1. The first step of doing our expert reviews is to buy a web host’s plan. However, this doesn’t need to be the most expensive or advanced plan, as we only need it so we can see how it works and what it offers. We usually purchase the most affordable plan that covers all of our needs.
  2. The next step in our review process is to explore each feature the web host provider offers carefully. Besides the features, we also pay attention to the performance and speed statistics of the provider as they are essential for your websites.
  3. Our expert reviews include pros and cons, customer support, and pricing plans, so during our testing, we choose the pros and cons of the provider, analyze their customer support, and also check if the web host is worth your money.
  4. Once we finish with the first three steps, we come to the part where we publish our expert review and monitor it when there are some changes with the chosen web hosting provider.
  5. Because we always try to provide the best brand reviews, we also consider the customer reviews, which are of great importance.

 

Pros and Cons

Pros:

  • Excellent array of choices
  • Supports many applications
  • Many account tiers
  • Pay-as-you-go plans
  • 3-day free trial
  • Site cloning options are available
  • Solid support

Cons:

  • No cPanel implementations
  • Requires some prior knowledge
  • More complicated than traditional hosting
  • No email hosting

Pros and ConsIf the incredible reliability and lightning-fast speed of cloud infrastructure are what you need, Cloudways is here to deliver – 99.99% uptime bundled up with impressive features, and more!

CloudWays

 

ParameterScoreWhy did we give this score?
User Friendly9.4Cloudways hosting is one of the most user-friendly web hosting providers out there. It is easy to use, as well as both functional and affordable. However, we gave this provider a score of 9.4 because it doesn’t come with a cPanel, which some might find as a disadvantage, and it is a bit more complicated than traditional hosting.
Support9.3Support is one of the most important things when you choose a web host service. Cloudways comes with a few support channels that can be pretty helpful but also tricky. We scored 9.3 because the support doesn’t cover everything (you’ll find out what we’re talking about).
Features9.6In terms of features, Cloudways offers pretty excellent ones. Each pricing plan provides impressive features that will enhance your website and make it as good as you can imagine, but we give this web host a score of 9.6 because it doesn’t offer domain registration.
Reliability9.8Cloudways provides an uptime of 99.99%, an incredible page-loading speed of 864.9 ms, and a website speed of 769.66 ms. This statistic shows that Cloudways works hard not to disappoint its customers, but there are still some power outages, which are the reason why we didn’t give the maximum score of 10.
Pricing9.7If you’re looking for an affordable web host, we can promise you that Cloudways has a variety of plans you can choose from, depending on your budget. The most basic plan starts at $10/month and can increase to $80/month. However, there are some more pricey plans.
Overall Score9.6Cloudways hosting is one of the best web host providers on the market. We highly recommend this slot as it comes with some wonderful features and benefits for your website. With some minor improvements, this provider can become the best of the best.

 

Cloudways Pricing & Plans – 2022

In our Cloudways brand review, we’ll thoroughly explain each pricing plan so that you can make the right choice. As you can notice, we mentioned pricing plans, which means Cloudways comes with five different plans that provide fantastic performance for your website. The plans are pretty flexible, and the web host comes with a pay-as-you-go platform. The variety of the plans depends on Cloudways’ partners:

  • DigitalOcean
  • Linode
  • Vultr
  • AWS
  • Google Cloud

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

Each of the plans comes with affordable prices and an amazing set of features, such as 27/7 support, built-in SSL security, auto-healing feature, one-click installations, and many more. What I found the best is that Cloudways hosting provides a 3-day free trial. Let’s go more in-depth and learn more about each plan.

Warning: When buying a plan, you should keep in mind that Cloudways charges Value Added Tax (VAT) to its customers from the European Union.

 

screenshot of managed cloud hosting plans

 

Digital Ocean is one of the most suitable plans for beginners, which starts at $10/month and can get to $80/month for the most advanced level. The storage varies between 25GB and 160GB. There isn’t unlimited bandwidth, but it does come with free migration, 24/7 expert support, and free SSL.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

Linode hosting is also suitable for beginners, and I can definitely say that if you are starting now, you should consider purchasing Digital Ocean or Linode. Linode starts at $12/month and reaches up to $90/month for the highest plan level. As well as the previous hosting plan, it comes with the same features.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

Next on the list is Vulrt hosting, which offers a free migration, free SSL, and support at any time of the day for a minimum of $11/month or a maximum of $84/month. What’s more, this plan comes with high-performance SSD cloud servers that improve your site’s performance.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

Amazon Web Services or AWS is a subsidiary of Amazon that provides on-demand cloud computing platforms and APIs to individuals, companies, and even governments, meaning this hosting plan can support greater websites. Besides this, you can also enjoy the features each other plan provides. If you decide to use this plan, you will pay $36.51/month for the most basic plan or $274.33/month for the most advanced one.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

We’ll wrap up the pricing list in our Cloudways review with the Google Cloud plan. If you’re a heavy user, this plan might be the best choice for your website. Google Cloud is a suite of cloud computing services that works on the same infrastructure that Google provides for its user products. This plan will cost you from $33.30/month to $226.05/month.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

Warning: I’m not sure if Cloudways offers a refund, but that’s why you can use each plan for free for three days, so keep an eye on that.

 

Features & Benefits

According to other expert reviews, backed up with customer reviews, you can clearly see that Cloudways comes with a great set of features that enhances your website and provides incredible performance. Whether you’re a beginner or a big company that wants to make a breakthrough, using Cloudways hosting may be the perfect match for your business.

1. Useful Tools

Cloudways’ expert team has worked hard for years to improve its company service. Since they are on the market, they take the performance and the speed of their users’ websites pretty seriously, so they provide some development and security tools that will improve your experience.

The security tools provide site backup, spam detection, firewalls, malware detection tools, and other security features that are offered within the hosting plan you’ve chosen. On the other hand, the development tools include tools for writing code, editing code, syntax, debugging, or utilizing frameworks, tools for building, deploying, or integrating source code into the hosted application. However, in your ‘Dashboard,’ you will find other tools such as MySQL, PostgreSQL, SQL Server, etc.

2. Global Presence

Throughout the years, Cloudways hosting, which is based in Malta, expanded worldwide and now supports a vast number of websites. Despite Malta, nowadays, Cloudways has servers in the United States, United Kingdom, Australia, France, Japan, Germany, and the Netherlands.

However, for many of the countries above, it is possible to select a city so that the users can use the server which is closest to them for the best performance. For example, in the United States, Cloudways has data centers in San Francisco, New York, Seattle, Los Angeles, Dallas, Chicago, Newark, Atlanta, and Miami.

Cloudways (Brand Review)

3. Security

One of Cloudways’ strongest points is security. They take security very seriously, so they provide free managed backups, free SSL certificates, or two-factor authentication. The backups save a copy of your entire site, including your files and database, that can be restored in a few seconds if it comes to an issue. Next, the SSL certificates are a must-have feature for any website, which adds an extra layer of security to the websites or applications. According to Google, the websites that use SSL certificates are higher ranked than those that don’t. Lastly, I mention the two-factor authentication, which adds a second layer of protection. This allows only you to log in to your Cloudways account.

4. Website Builder

If you were worried about whether you could build your website by using WordPress, I’m happy to say that Cloudways supports the famous website builder. You won’t waste any time installing WordPress because Cloudways comes with a one-click installation, meaning you will enjoy WordPress in no time. Also, you can consider using other website builders, such as WooCommerce.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

* Learn more about the best website builders out there

5. Vertical Scaling

Vertical Scaling is a pretty unique feature that allows you to upgrade your server. More precisely, you can increase the server resources in just a few clicks. However, this feature works both ways. If you decide to downgrade the server, you can quickly revert it to its previous hosting plan.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

6. Website Migration

While I was doing my Cloudways review, what got to my attention was the free migration this web hosting provider offers. This means those website owners who already have a website that another provider hosts can easily transfer it to Cloudways. Due to the free migration, the users shouldn’t have to go through the long and sometimes painful procedure of creating a new account. If you use WordPress, Cloudways significantly improved this process for you. It offers a WordPress plugin that makes sure you have a smooth and no-issue migration.

7. Free Trial

To see if the web host provider has everything you look for, you should purchase even the most basic plan and test it yourself. You might be used to requesting a refund, but with Cloudways, there won’t be any need for that. Earlier in our Cloudways review, we mentioned the 3-day free trial, which allows you to use their services for free, and if you aren’t satisfied, you can easily cancel them.

Note: When purchasing a plan, Cloudways doesn’t ask for any payment details, so you shouldn’t worry if you would be accidentally charged.

8. Various Paying Methods

If your country doesn’t support PayPal, don’t worry. That’s not the only paying method you can use for Cloudways. First, this web host doesn’t determine whether you should pay with a credit or a debit card – you can pay with both. The users can use their Visa, MasterCard, or Amex credit or debit cards. Also, you can use the Wire Transfer service, but remember that it is only accessible if your minimum purchase is $1000.

 

Performance

Having a website that comes with top performance and is 100% reliable is one of the most crucial things when developing a website. That’s why you should search for a web host that offers decent speed, uptime, and an excellent loading time. If your choice is Cloudways, you have nothing to worry about. They have excellent performance and mature access to everything.

1. Speed – Helps You Draws Page Traffic

Cloudways is worldwide expanded, and it works hard to provide an excellent speed that will satisfy its customers but also the website visitors. Its five partners, Digital Ocean, Google Cloud, Vultr, Linode, and AWS, help Cloudways to succeed in that.

However, I already mentioned that Cloudways has its servers in many countries around the world, which means that the closer you are to the server, the better the website’s performance and speed. I decided to personally test a website, and these are the results I got:

Cloudways (Brand Review)

A website speed of 769.66 ms is more than extraordinary. From these statistics, I can say that the speeds on Cloudways hosting are well under 1 sec, with or without optimization. Having such a fast website is perfect for your page’s SEO, and it also draws more attention.

2. Uptime – Superb (99.99% For The Last Year)

A website’s uptime is one of the most important performances. The uptime shows whether your visitors will enjoy the website or they will face downtime. No one wants to have issues with the website’s downtime, so you should consider using Cloudways as it provides an excellent uptime of 99.99%. Throughout the year, the uptime varied a bit, but the minimum it got was 99.96% from October to December 2021, which is also great.

Note: The total downtime in the last 365 days was just 35 minutes.

3. Loading Time – A Powerful CDN That Enhances Your Page’s Loading Time

Last but not least is the website’s loading time. Many types of research show that if your website takes longer to load, the visitors simply give up. So, what can you do to avoid this?

Improving your page loading speed can be a relatively challenging process, and it might not always help. Cloudways comes with an extraordinary loading time of 864.9 ms, and you can even use cache plugins to improve this speed a little bit more.

Cloudways (Brand Review)

Also, Cloudways hosting uses a Content Delivery Network (CDN), which is a network of servers and data centers that are geographically positioned between the origin server of some website and the user that requests it. The CDN helps to deliver the content faster by reducing latency.

Warning: CDN fees aren’t included in Cloudways’ hosting plans, so keep in mind that if you want to use it, it starts at $1 per 25GB. 

 

Level of Support

How could we do a Cloudways review without mentioning its support? What you should keep in mind is that Cloudways doesn’t guarantee a refund. But, you can still cancel their plans after the 3-day free trial this web host provider has. When purchasing a plan, you won’t even be asked for any payment information, so your money will be safe. As you might be familiar, I am used to testing canceling plans, so let’s see how that goes.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

Cloudways hosting provides a few types of customer support – 24/7 live chat, knowledge base, request a call, send an email, or even a CloudwaysBot. I decided to simply go to my account, scroll down to the bottom, and select ‘Cancel Account.’

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

After I did that, I was requested to tick the checkbox that indicates you agree to the terms and conditions.

Cloudways (Brand Review)

What you should also do is terminate all your active servers before you cancel the account.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

This process is pretty easy, and it will be done in less than 10 minutes. It is straightforward, and everything is well-explained. After you confirm the terms and conditions, you will be transferred to a screen where you’ll need to confirm the cancelation.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)Cloudways (Brand Review)

As you can see from the image above, you can tick the reason why you want to cancel the plan, and once you click ‘Yes, cancel my account,’ you’re good to go.

Cloudways (Brand Review)

Cloudways’ live chat system initially generates scripted messages for you until you are connected with a real person. Furthermore, their CloudwaysBot monitors the servers and gives notifications whenever there is an update or any issue. Overall, their support team is excellent if you are both a beginner or a heavy user.

 

User Friendly

One of the essential things that people look for in a web host provider is user-friendly usage. For many, user-friendly web hosting providers are the ones that use a cPanel. However, because Cloudways doesn’t come with a cPanel, there are other things that make it user-friendly.

Cloudways hosting comes with a custom control panel, which is done by the latest technologies. Cloudways’ custom control panel might not be a cPanel, but it is easy to navigate through it, and it is well-organized. In the ‘Dashboard,’ you will find many things that will help you manage your account as you like. Also, while I was testing Cloudways, I was positively surprised by how the company makes it fast and easy for users to sign-up for a plan or their free trial. Let’s explain it better.

1. Creating an Account with Cloudways

If you were looking for a web hosting service that offers easy and quick account creation, Cloudways might be the right choice for you. The process of creating your account will be done in less than 15 minutes. Can things get any better? First, you should choose a hosting plan, and afterward, you will be requested to enter your first name, last name, email, password, how you would describe yourself, and your monthly hosting budget. Then, you’ll receive an email notification that will ask you to confirm your account, and after activating it, you would only need to verify your account by phone number. After you put your country and phone number, you’ll receive a code, and once you enter it, you’re ready to use your Cloudways account.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

2. Migrating a Website

Another beneficial option is the possibility of migrating your website. If you already have a website that is hosted by another web host, you can simply transfer it to Cloudways with a smooth and painless process. Things get even better if you are using WordPress as your website builder because the Cloudways expert team provides a WordPress plugin that significantly eases your website migration.

3. Installing WordPress

One of the best features that we’ve listed in our Cloudways review is the one-click installation. Due to the simplicity of the platform, you can install WordPress as your website builder in no time. If you go to the ‘Applications’ tab, you’ll see a list of all of your WordPress sites. If you click on a specific site, you’ll open its dashboard. You just need to click on one button, and WordPress is ready for usage.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

Our Cloudways review is full of easy procedures for doing anything you want. It comes with exceptional sets of features that will enhance your website and make it the best of the best. But what else have we prepared for you? Keep reading our Cloudways brand review to find out.

 

Step by Step Walkthrough – Cloudways

Testing your chosen web hosting provider is crucial for everyone’s business. That’s why I always like to purchase a plan and see how Cloudways works. I made an account and enabled the three-day trial to successfully test this time.

 

Step by Step Walkthrough – Cloudways

 

Once you visit Cloudways’ official page, you’ll see two “Start Free” buttons on the screen. Yes, not one, but two buttons. Does it get better than this? At first sight, their website looks amazing, it is really appealing, but also, you can easily sign up without wasting much time.

 

screenshot of managed cloud hosting plans

 

The next step is to choose a hosting plan. To make the best choice, you should have a clear sight of your intentions and carefully see what each plan offers. You have to pick between Digital Ocean, Linode, Vultr, AWS, and Google Cloud. I’ve already explained the hosting plans, so to save you some time, I’ll skip that step. This time, I’ll be using Digital Ocean simply because it’s the first selection, and it is suitable for what I want to test.

Once you click on ‘Start Free,’ you’ll proceed to the following screen.

 

Cloudways (Brand Review)

 

As you can see, you will be asked to enter your first name, last name, email, and password, to describe yourself and provide your monthly spending budget. Also, if you have a promo code, feel free to add it here. Lastly, tick the box where it says that you agree to the terms and conditions, and you’ll be transferred to the next step. After clicking on ‘Start Free,’ wait for your email, which will ask you to confirm your account.

 

Untitled document

 

Now, you’re requested to click on ‘Activate Account.’ Once you click on it, you’ll be taken to the following screen.

Untitled document

In this step, you should select your country and enter your phone number so that you can verify your email.

 

Untitled document

 

After you click on ‘Verify,’ you’ll be sent a code that should be entered in 2 minutes.

 

Untitled document

 

Once you enter the code and again click on ‘Verify,’ you’ll finally get access to your account.

 

Untitled document

 

So far, so good (also quick and easy). If there aren’t any issues with creating your account, you can safely get started with managing it. Let’s see how that goes.

 

Using and Managing Your Account on Cloudways

After creating your Cloudways account, you come to the exciting part – using and managing your account.

The first thing that I noticed was that I could switch from Digital Ocean to any other hosting plan at any time. This was really a positive surprise.

 

Untitled document

 

Next, you can choose whether you’ll use WordPress, WooCommerce, PHP, Magento, or Laravel. You can name your managed app, managed server, and your project. After finishing this step, you will be forwarded to choose your location.

 

Untitled document

What you will also notice at the bottom left of the screen is the hourly cost as well as the monthly cost on the ‘pay-as-you-go.’ On the other hand, on the right side, you will find a ‘Launch Now’ button. By clicking on it, you will start configuring your account.

Untitled document

Untitled document

Wow, how easy was that! Yes, I know. It is unbelievable to me too. But, the best part has not yet come. Not only will you enjoy that easy process, but if you are new or you simply need help, you could watch a video that showcases how to migrate your WordPress website to Cloudways.

Untitled document

After that, you should wait up to 10 minutes for the server to set up, but you’ll enjoy it afterward. After the setting up finishes, you will find your IP address and a green live icon on the left side.

Untitled document

When you click on the three dots on the right side, you’ll open up more menu items. There you will find an option to stop, restart, delete the server or just add an application and potentially even clone it.

Untitled document

If you click on ‘Application Management,’ you will come across the ‘Dashboard’ that provides many menu items.

Dashboard

In the ‘Dashboard,’ you will find access details, monitoring, bot protection, domain management, cron job management, SSL certification, Backup and Restore, Deployment through Git, application settings, Migration tools, and CloudwaysCDN. Also, you will find ‘Bot Protection,’ which I really loved because it secures your website by blocking bots and hackers before they can harm your site.

 

Untitled document

 

Your console will be open to your Master Credentials on the default settings. Here, you can edit your username and password, manage SSH keys and view your IP address.

Monitoring Tab

By clicking on the ‘Monitoring Tab,’ a falling-down menu will appear. This tab provides options that will help you monitor your servers and applications. You will see the following options: analytics (where you can see the traffic), PHP, MySQL, Running Crons and Disk Usage data, and the logs, where you can see the Access log and the Error log.

 

Untitled document

 

Projects

By clicking on ‘Projects’ in the menu next to the Cloudways logo, you can see your project.

 

Untitled document

 

As you can notice, in the menu, you can also find a ‘Servers’ tab. If you click on it and then click on your server, that’s when the real fun starts.

 

Untitled document

 

By clicking your server, you can finally start managing your account.

 

Untitled document

 

On the left side, the users could see master credentials, monitoring, managing services, settings and packages, security, ‘vertical scaling,’ backups, and SMTP.

Monitoring

On the monitoring tab, you have the whole summary of your server showcased on one screen.

 

Untitled document

 

The users will be able to see their RAM usage, CPU usage, disk usage, and bandwidth usage.

Manage Services Tab

In this tab, you can see the control core services which allow your applications to run. By changing these settings, you can seriously destroy the app functionality, so it would be best not to touch anything if you don’t know what you’re doing.

 

Untitled document

 

Settings & Packages

If you want to manage various server-level settings as well as packages, you should click on the ‘Settings & Packages’ tab. This tab allows you to manage the execution limit, the upload size, the memory limit, the display error, the error reporting, and the PHP time zone.

 

Untitled document

 

Security Tab

One of the most crucial things for your website is security. This tab allows you to manage security settings. The users can even safelist their IP or IP subnets for SSH/SFTP and MySQL connections.

Vertical Scaling

I’ve already mentioned this tab a bit earlier, so now, I will explain it a bit better. The Vertical Scaling feature allows you to increase your server’s size. However, because I’ve purchased the Digital Ocean hosting plan, if I decide to scale down the server’s size, I can only do that through the cloning feature.

 

Untitled document

 

Backup

By clicking on the ‘Backup’ tab, you can manage the backup preferences. More precisely, you can set the scheduled time for backups, the backup frequency, the backup retention, and local backups. Furthermore, you can make an on-demand backup at any moment.

 

Untitled document

 

Applications Tab

The ‘Applications’ tab can also be found in the main menu, and it lets you view your applications. In my example, I can see the WordPress application here because my website is connected to this website builder.

 

Untitled document

 

To access your admin panel on WordPress, you can find it in the ‘Access Details’ tab.

 

Untitled document

 

In the following image, you can see where to manage your WordPress pages, files, themes, plugins, etc.

 

Untitled document

 

Teams

It looks like we went through everything, except for one more tab – ‘Teams.’ This tab allows you to add team members, which is pretty helpful if you are working with a team and on multiple projects. You can add your team, edit their access to specific servers and applications, and even restrict the operations with servers they can access.

 

Untitled document

 

But besides everything I have explained so far, I would like to pay attention to a few more things – CloudwaysBot, Add-ons, Suggest A Feature, and Affiliate Program.

 

Untitled document

 

CloudwaysBot

The CloudwaysBot is a high-technology server assistant that monitors your Cloudways account. It keeps a close eye 24/7 and notifies you if there are any issues with your Servers, Applications, Security, Billing, and overall performance.

 

Untitled document

 

Add-ons

In the ‘Add-ons’ tab, you will find Support Add-on, the DNS Made Easy add-on, the Rackspace Email, Elastic Email, Application Migration, Application Upgrade, and CloudwaysCDN. The invite a friend initiative, which awards you $20 for each invite, got me surprised. But that’s not all. Your friends also have a benefit from this. By signing up, they can get $15. It looks like Cloudways always has something more than you expect.

 

Untitled document

 

Conclusion: Do We Recommend Cloudways?

After thoroughly doing this Cloudway review, yes, we highly recommend it. Cloudways is a fully-managed, cloud-based web hosting provider. The hosting plans come with great flexibility so that you can choose the right plan for your business website. What I like a lot is the ‘pay-as-you-go’ model, which makes Cloudways ideal for businesses and users who are on a tight budget.

What many people find as a disadvantage, but I think is pretty helpful, is the Cloudways custom control panel. Instead of using a cPanel, their custom control panel makes things easy for users who are unfamiliar with command lines and are entirely new to website building. In other words, the Cloudways expert team makes sure you have a smooth and pleasant experience that fulfills your needs.

By partnering with five of the top cloud providers out there, Cloudways offers cloud-based hosting services that enhance speed, performance, and reliability. Cloudways is one of the many cloud-based hosting companies that comes with a nice balance between affordability and superb features. If you still have any doubts, you can test this top-quality web hosting provider by using their 3-day free trial or check the hundreds of experts and customer reviews on the Internet.


During April 2022, Cloudways:

  • Experienced issues with CloudwaysCDN.
  • Experienced a partial outage on its Atlanta server.
  • Performed chat support maintenance.
  • Experienced an intermittent issue with its Let’s-Encrypt SAN SSL.
  • Experienced email delivery issues on Elastic email.
  • Announced partnership with Cloudflare and introduced the new Cloudflare Enterprise add-on.
  • Released a new security update for the Elementor plugin.
  • Announced that it is a Silver Sponsor for WordCamp Athens 2022.
  • Introduced the Agency Resources Pack for digital agencies.
  • Announced that it is a Gold Level Sponsor for the WP Career Summit.

During March 2022, Cloudways:

  • HostAdvice Special Deals: Get free cloud hosting credit worth $30 with code: HOSTADVICE30.
  • Didn’t report any server issues.

During February 2022, Cloudways:

  • Performed emergency network maintenance on its Frankfurt Server.

During January 2022, Cloudways:

During December 2021, Cloudways:

During November 2021, Cloudways:

During October 2021, Cloudways:

  • Received a number of complaints related to customers not able to renew or install Let’s Encrypt certificate
  • Reported partial outage, issues with elastic email service, CDN provisioning issue, latency issue on chat support, and network degradation

During September 2021, Cloudways:

During August 2021, Cloudways:

  • Reported a partial outage in Atlanta and a CDN provisioning Issue
  • Announced Cloudways Staging 2.0 (extended functionality and the ability to exclude files when syncing staging to live)

During July 2021, Cloudways:

During June 2021, Cloudways:

  • Announced a collaboration between Cloudways and LitExtension to provide easy Magento data migration
  • Reported connectivity issues, maintenance activity, and a temporary glitch

During May 2021, Cloudways:

  • Released Breeze v1.2 to improve Core Web Vitals compatibility and deliver a better PageSpeed Insights score
  • Reported 11 incidents, including backups and live chat, and scheduled network maintenance

FAQ

Is Cloudways suitable for eCommerce plans?

Yes, it does. Cloudways comes with a modern combination of Nginx and Apache servers that promise better performance and provide outstanding eCommerce plans.

What is a ‘pay-as-you-go’ system?

The ‘pay-as-you-go- system allows you to only pay for the time when you use their services and not for the entire month/year. This is an excellent feature that allows a smooth experience.

What paying methods does Cloudways hosting support?

Cloudways hosting comes with a variety of paying methods. This web host provider supports payments through Credit and Debit Cards, such as Visa, MasterCard, and Amex, and it also supports PayPal. But that’s not all. This highly ranked web host also supports the Wire Transfer service, which is only accessible on a minimum purchase of $1000.

Where is Cloudways located?

Cloudways is located in Malta, Europe, but nowadays, it has servers in many countries around the world.

Does Cloudways provide a free migration?

What I absolutely loved about this web host is that it comes with an option for free migration of one website, and things get even better if you want to transfer your WordPress website. This cloud hosting platform also has a WordPress migration plugin.

Does Cloudways come with email hosting?

Yes, you can use email hosting, but keep in mind that it requires extra fees. You can freely subscribe to their Rackspace Email add-on that costs $1/month for one email account.

When not to use Cloudways hosting?

If you are a complete beginner in the world of web hosting, you can consider beginning with shared hosting providers that offer an easy-to-use interface. However, if you are ready for some greater challenges, you can definitely purchase one of Cloudways’ plans.

Can I get help with moving my website to Cloudways?

Their support team is available 24/7 for everything you need. However, after signing in, you can watch a tutorial that shows how to migrate your WordPress account to Cloudways.

Cloudways Prices, Plans & Features - 2022

VPS Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space CPU RAM OS Price Score
Vultr Starter Plan 25 GB 1 x 1.00GHz 1 GB AU$16.14 9.2 Details

Cloud Hosting Plans

Plan Name Space CPU RAM Bandwidth Price Score
Vultr Starter Plan 25 GB 1 x 1.00GHz 1 GB 1 TB AU$16.14 9.0 Details
Vultr 2GB Plan 55 GB 1 x 1.00GHz 2 GB 2 TB AU$33.75 9.0 Details
Vultr 4GB Plan 80 GB 2 x 2.00GHz 4 GB 3 TB AU$64.56 6.4 Details
Vultr 8GB Plan 160 GB 2 x 2.00GHz 8 GB 4 TB AU$123.26 9.2 Details
Vultr 16GB Plan 320 GB 6 x 2.00GHz 16 GB 5 TB AU$203.96 9.2 Details
Vultr 32GB Plan 640 GB 8 x 2.00GHz 32 GB 6 TB AU$330.15 9.2 Details
Vultr 64GB Plan 1.25 TB 16 x 2.00GHz 64 GB 10 TB AU$564.93 10 Details
DigitalOcean Starter Plan 25 GB 1 x 1.00GHz 1 GB 1 TB AU$14.67 9.1 Details
DigitalOcean 2GB Plan 50 GB 1 x 1.00GHz 2 GB 2 TB AU$32.28 9.5 Details
DigitalOcean 4GB Plan 80 GB 2 x 2.00GHz 4 GB 4 TB AU$61.63 9.8 Details
DigitalOcean 8GB Plan 160 GB 4 x 2.00GHz 8 GB 5 TB AU$117.39 9.6 Details
DigitalOcean 16GB Plan 320 GB 6 x 2.00GHz 16 GB 6 TB AU$198.09 9.2 Details
DigitalOcean 32GB Plan 640 GB 8 x 2.00GHz 32 GB 7 TB AU$337.49 9.2 Details
DigitalOcean 48GB Plan 960 GB 12 x 2.00GHz 48 GB 8 TB AU$462.22 9.2 Details
DigitalOcean 64GB Plan 1.25 TB 16 x 2.00GHz 64 GB 9 TB AU$579.60 9.2 Details
DigitalOcean 96GB Plan 1.88 TB 20 x 2.00GHz 96 GB 10 TB AU$814.38 9.2 Details
DigitalOcean 128GB Plan 2.5 TB 24 x 2.00GHz 128 GB 11 TB AU$1,049.16 9.2 Details
DigitalOcean 192GB Plan 3.75 TB 32 x 2.00GHz 192 GB 12 TB AU$1,518.71 9.2 Details
DigitalOcean 4GB Plan Premium 80 GB 1 x 2.00GHz 4 GB 4 TB AU$17.61 9.6 Details
DigitalOcean 8GB Plan Premium 160 GB 1 x 2.00GHz 8 GB 5 TB AU$38.15 9.2 Details
DigitalOcean 16GB Plan Premium 320 GB 2 x 2.00GHz 16.01 GB 6 TB AU$73.37 10 Details
Vultr High Frequency 1GB 32 GB 1 x 2.00GHz 1 GB 1 TB AU$19.08 9.8 Details
Vultr High Frequency 2GB 64 GB 1 x 2.00GHz 2 GB 2 TB AU$38.15 9.6 Details
Vultr High Frequency 4GB 2.08 TB 2 x 2.00GHz 4 GB 3 TB AU$73.37 10 Details

Check Similar Hosting Companies:

  • 9
    Hostinger
    Money Back 30 Days
    Free domain
    Starting Price
    AU$2.92 / mo
    17 Hosting Plans
    10 Data Centers
    Visit Site
  • 10
    ChemiCloud
    Money Back 45 Days
    Free domain
    Starting Price
    AU$4.37 / mo
    12 Hosting Plans
    11 Data Centers
    check
    24/7 Award-Winning Support
    check
    Worry-Free - 45 Days Money Back
    database
    Simple Website Builder With Drag And Drop, Responsive Design, And Over 350 Templates
    Visit Site

Web Hosting in Compare:

Select at least 1 more company to compare
Cancel Compare